Crytek’s Hunt: Showdown is free to play this weekend

Crytek has announced that Hunt: Showdown will be free to play on Steam from Thursday, August 9th at 10 am PT/1 pm ET/ 7 pm CEST to Monday, August 13th at 10 am PT/1 pm ET/ 7 pm CEST. During that time, the game will also be on sale for 20% off.

The free weekend event also coincides with the addition of South American servers to the game, bringing a new continent of players to the game, and a brand new set of six Steam trading cards to collect and trade. The game can be downloaded here, right now.

Currently, Hunt: Showdown is in Early Access, and constant updates bring new content and further optimizations to the game on a monthly basis. Shortly after the free weekend, the game will see the addition of the Water Devil, a new AI that will make wading through the Louisiana swamps where the game is set even more dangerous.

Hunt: Showdown is a multiplayer, first-person bounty hunting game that combines the action, the thrill, and the tension of multiple genres into a unique new gaming experience. During each match, up to ten players track and kill monsters solo or in teams of two, then have to fight to get off of the map with the prize before another Hunter takes them out.

Hunt: Showdown | Early Access Launch trailer

John Papadopoulos

John is the founder and Editor in Chief at DSOGaming. He is a PC gaming fan and highly supports the modding and indie communities.Before creating DSOGaming, John worked on numerous gaming websites. While he is a die-hard PC gamer, his gaming roots can be found on consoles. John loved - and still does - the 16-bit consoles, and considers SNES to be one of the best consoles. Still, the PC platform won him over consoles. That was mainly due to 3DFX and its iconic dedicated 3D accelerator graphics card, Voodoo 2. John has also written a higher degree thesis on the "The Evolution of PC graphics cards." Contact: Email