Hunt: Showdown Update 4.0 adds Quickplay game mode, challenges, gunplay changes and more

Crytek has released another big one for its Early Access online multiplayer bounty hunting game, Hunt: Showdown. In conjunction with the new release, Hunt: Showdown will be on sale for 25% off on Steam from December 13th at 10 am PT/ 1 pm ET/ 7 pm CEST to December 19th at 10 am PT/ 1pm ET/ 7pm CEST.

One of the stars of Update 4.0 is the Quickplay game mode, which is designed to offer players the option to play a game of Hunt with a shorter match length—and different gameplay. In a Quickplay match, ten solo players race against the clock to find and activate wellsprings of energy—win and keep both Hunter and loot, or perish.

Players will also find a slew of world improvements—from bug fixes to readability tweaks for both maps—and daily and weekly challenges added by popular community request. On the weapon front, gunplay changes for Update 4.0 center around unifying the feel of weapons so that it is more consistent and fluid overall, and the game’s audio has also seen a lot of developer attention, with improvements and bugfixes across the board.

Enjoy a new trailer dedicated to the newly added Quickplay game mode!

Hunt: Showdown | Quickplay Trailer

John Papadopoulos

John is the founder and Editor in Chief at DSOGaming. He is a PC gaming fan and highly supports the modding and indie communities.Before creating DSOGaming, John worked on numerous gaming websites. While he is a die-hard PC gamer, his gaming roots can be found on consoles. John loved - and still does - the 16-bit consoles, and considers SNES to be one of the best consoles. Still, the PC platform won him over consoles. That was mainly due to 3DFX and its iconic dedicated 3D accelerator graphics card, Voodoo 2. John has also written a higher degree thesis on the "The Evolution of PC graphics cards." Contact: Email